I was leaving the gym this morning and as I was opening the door, with my hands full of bags and all things that would occupy my time for the next 10-12 hours….. A gentlemen, whom I had not met before, made it his business to help me by holding the door open. A simple gesture like this, you may be thinking, is common courtesy….. Yes, I agree, and I also subscribe to the thinking that there are far more people in our world that act in this manner, than otherwise. However, what had the most effect on me, was when he smiled, looked me right in the eyes and said “I’VE GOT YOU COVERED MATE”.

He smiled, looked me right in the eyes and said “I’VE GOT YOU COVERED MATE”.

Think about this for 2-3 minutes…… How does it make you feel when a family member, a friend, a work colleague, a partner, a client or even a complete stranger, acts in this manner and gives you the reassurance that “I’VE GOT YOU COVERED MATE”. I’m sure you would agree that it makes you feel SAFE, it makes you feel VALUED, and it makes you feel WORTHY!

It makes you feel SAFE, it makes you feel VALUED, it makes you feel WORTHY!

So, with that in mind, there will be two types of people reading this post. The first type…… which I don’t think is you….. But just saying….. Is the person who says, no kidding Gav…. thanks for the insight, I’ll keep it in mind. The second type….. Which I do think is you….. Will make it their business to let somebody in their world today know that “I’VE GOT YOU COVERED MATE”.

Fun FACT…..A smile, eye contact and taking the time to say a few kind words delivers 73 X the IMPACT of any compliance program, training course or corporate gift that we could ever dream of….. Now there is an ROI to be proud of!

Let’s all play a little part in making Australian business great and may you have a wonderful day!

Please let me know what you think about this article?

Gavin Altus, is Co-Founder and Director at Sentrient, an Australian business that helps create safe, fair and better workplaces. At Sentrient we are passionate about making things simple, easy and affordable, by leveraging new technology combined with old school values!

You may also like:

